Map of Mauritius

Map of Mauritius
Mauritius Map

Map of Mauritius

Map of Mauritius – Mauritius Island already existed on the map of the Arab who were, it seems to be the first to discover the island but were not interested to settle on the island but there is no exact date found when the Arab first visited the island.

Albertino Cantino reproduced in the year 1502 an Arab map, which was also the first European map with Mauritius Island mentioned with its Arab name.

On this map was also seen a group of three islands located south east of Madagascar.

On this map, Mauritius was known as Dina Arobi. On other maps Mauritius Island was named Dinarobin or Dina Margabin.

Map of Mauritius

Mauritius Map

Mauritius is divided into nine districts known as Savanne, Plaines Wilhems, Flacq, Moka, Grand Port, Black River, Pamplemousses, Rivière du Rempart and Port Louis.
Mauritius has also three dependencies which are Agalega, Rodrigues and Cargados Carajos Shoals.
Port Louis is the capital of Mauritius Island and it is a very busy city, where is also found the Government House, the District Court, offices from the ministers, the harbour.
In Port Louis is also found as attraction the Chinatown, the Port Louis Bazaar (market), the stamp museum and the Caudan Waterfront.

A well known hotel in the capital city is the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, which is quite visited from businessmen who are in the island for short trips.

The tallest buildings of Mauritius are found in the capital of the island, Port Louis. There has been a lot of changes and construction between 1990 and 2000 where a lot of skyscrapers have been built.

The main towns of Mauritius are Port Louis, Curepipe, Rose Hill, Beau Bassin, Quatre Bornes, Vacoas and Phoenix.



Here you can have a look on the map of Mauritius Island. On the map below you can discover the main town and cities of the island.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply